Software Testing - Testing Life Cycles

In Software development process,  we have two type of life cycles

1. SDLC (Software Development Life Cycle).
2. STLC (Software Testing Life Cycle).

Software Developments Life Cycle

Software development life cycle  is a process of developing software application.

Process will begin as follows
1. Requirements
2. Analysis
3. Design
4. Coding
5. Testing
6. Implementation
7. Support/maintenance


1. Clients provides requirements in the form of business requirement document.
2. After receiving the requirements company will conduct meeting and identify work manager.
3. Identifying the standards, procedures, guidelines, checklist for required to develop the project.
4.  Review of SRS and approval of SRS.
5. Based on approval SRS software architecture will create blue print or proto type.


1. In this stage domain expert or functional expert will review the requirements.
2. Domain experts will create required design documents.


Development team will create  low level design, high level design documents in the form of HTML etc.


Development team start develop application according to low level, high level documents.


Developed application is given to testing team to start the testing on given build.

In this stage QA and Testing will start according to STLC.

2. STLC (Software Testing Life Cycle)

Software Testing Life Cycle will follows below process

  1. Requirements
  2. Analysis
  3. Design
    • Test Plan
    • Test Scenario
    • Test Cases
  4. Test Execution
  5. Test Summary
  6. Test Closure
  1. Software Testers will get SRD, FRS ,Design documents in the form of requirements.
  2. Testers will review the requirements with above mentioned documents.
  1. Software Testers will analysis requirements for understanding the flow of application.
  2. Testers will prepare Query tracker for requirements Gap.
  3. Example: For Username field validation,Type etc requirements are missing.
  4. Testers will receive the Query Tracker response to confirm the requirement specifications.
  5. Testers will get approval from Test Lead,Test Manager regarding SRD , FRS , Design documents  to proceed further testing.
  1. Once SRS ,FRS etc documents are approval then Test Lead will start preparing Test Plan according to mentioned documents.
  2. Once Test Plan is approved by Manager then Testers will start prepare Test Scenarios.
  3. Completed Test Scenarios are send to Test Lead for Approval.
  4. Test Lead will review the Test Scenarios with Client Requirements,if it is covered then Test Lead will approve the same.
  5. Once Test Scenarios are approved Testers will prepare Test Cases according to Test Scenarios.
  6. Once Test cases are completed it will send to Test Lead for approval.
  7. Test Cases will approve if all the Test scenarios are covered.
Test Execution
  1. Once Build received from Development Team,Testers will start Testing on given build
  2. Development Team will send build release note in the form of Email with Covered requirements.
  3. Testers will perform Sanity/Smoke Testing on given build to test main functionality.
  4. Once the Sanity/Smoke testing is pass tester will start execution of test cases.
  5. If testers get any defects ,testers will log the defect in Test Management tools.
  6. Development team will fix the defect and send email to tester.
  7. Testers will perform retest on fixed defect to confirm whether it is fixed or not.
  8. Once all the defects are closed ,Test Lead will prepare Test Summary Report ,closure of testing.

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for the informative post. It was thoroughly helpful to me. Keep posting more such articles on software testing course in Chennai and enlighten us.